Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman Agricultural University (BSMRAU) is a government-financed 13th public university of Bangladesh and third agricultural university after Bangladesh Agricultural University and Sher-e-Bangla Agricultural University. It is located at Salna, Gazipur.

Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman Agricultural University was established in 1998 as a public university with an act (Act no. 16) promulgated by the government of Bangladesh.

The university was established by transforming the Institute of Post Graduate Studies in Agriculture (IPSA). IPSA was established as Bangladesh College of Agricultural Science (BCAS) in 1983 as an academic organ of Bangladesh Agricultural Research Institute (BARI) and academically affiliated with Bangladesh Agricultural University until 1991. In 1991, IPSA was made an autonomous institution. Henceforth, IPSA started its true course credit-based MS and PhD programs. The graduate program of IPSA was developed by a team of IPSA teachers led by Prof. L. M. Eisgruver of the Oregon State University (OSU), USA under the cooperation of JICA-USAID-GOB.

Latest News
  • Recruitment notice

    Please click the link for detail advertisement  Click here to download the application form for Teacher  
  • Cultural week begins at BSMRAU

    ‘Cultural Week 2016’ of Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman Agricultural University (BSMRAU) has started from 11 May, Wednesday at the university auditorium. Only the students...
  • Digital Herbarium website Opens at BSMRAU

    The opening of digital herbarium of crop plants website and certificate giving ceremony of three day long from 8 – 10 Feb.’16 training program on photography and videography...

Mailing Address


Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman Agricultural University
Salna,Gazipur-1706, Bangladesh.