The 23rd Science Conference of BAAS concluded

The 23rd Science Conference of Bangladesh Association for the Advancement of Science (BAAS) will be held on dated 15-17, October 2015


The closing ceremony of the 23rd Bangladesh Science Conference was held on October 18, 2015 at 3-00 pm at the Begum Sufia Kamal Auditorium of Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman Agricultural University (BSMRAU), Gazipur. Mr. A. K. M. Mozammel Huq MP, Minister, Ministry of Liberation War Affairs was present as chief guest and delivered his speech.

Minister said, our country is now developing to middle income country by the contribution of our scientists. He also added that, our country would be developed by 2041 under the active leadership of Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina with the contribution of scientists’ research-based knowledge and their new invention. He also said that the scientists will be the pioneer in the journey of development.

Vice-Chancellor of this University Prof. Dr. Md. Mahbubar Rahman was present as the Chief Patron. He said, BAAS is a group of scientist from different discipline of sciences and re-iterated that our Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina who actually dreamt the Vision 2021 and by now under her active leadership we have achieved the target of MDG which was recognized at the recently held UN convention. He also mentioned that, the researchers must dedicate the work to develop science. Prof. Dr. Mohammed Alauddin, Vice-Chancellor of Dhaka University of Engineering and Technology, Dr Md. Rafiqul Islam Mondal, Director General, Bangladesh Agricultural Research Institute and Dr. Jiban Krishna Biswas, Director General, Bangladesh Rice Research Institute were present as special guests.

Prof. Dr. Shahid Akhtar Hossain, President, Bangladesh Association for the Advancement of Science (BAAS) and Pro-Vice-Chancellor of Dhaka University delivered his concluding speech and presided over the closing ceremony.

The program was also addressed among others by Dr. Md. Shahidul Islam, General Secretary, BAAS, Prof. Dr. Md. Ismail Hossain Mian, Chairman, Organizing committee and Treasurer, BSMRAU and Prof. Dr. M. Kamruzzaman, Member Secretary, Organizing committee.

Scientists from different universities and research organizations, distinguished guests, faculty members, officers and employees were present at that time.