The Faculty of Agriculture at Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman Agricultural University (BSMRAU) is committed to fostering excellence in agricultural education, research, and extension services. Since its establishment, the faculty has been dedicated to providing quality education and producing highly skilled graduates in the field of agriculture. In the summer of 2005, the faculty initiated its undergraduate program by offering the Bachelor of Science in Agriculture (BS Agriculture) degree.

The undergraduate program offered by the Faculty of Agriculture encompasses a wide range of agricultural disciplines. Its curriculum is carefully designed to equip students with a comprehensive understanding of agricultural sciences, including crop production, plant protection, stress mitigation, soil health, and agricultural engineering. The faculty’s primary objective is to contribute to the national development of Bangladesh by producing competent graduates who can provide intellectual leadership in various agricultural domains.

The Faculty of Agriculture follows a North American term-based course-credit system, dividing the academic year into three terms: Summer, Autumn, and Winter. Under the faculty, there are 14 academic departments and 1 academic unit that collectively offer the integrated BS Agriculture degree. Each department is staffed with highly qualified teachers and well-equipped laboratories. The administration of the BS Agriculture program falls under the purview of the Dean of the Faculty of Agriculture. This structured program requires students to complete 200 credit hours (theory and practical) over 12 terms within a four-year timeframe.

The faculty comprises a team of highly qualified and experienced faculty members who actively engage in teaching and research activities. These dedicated professors and researchers bring their expertise to the classrooms and laboratories, ensuring that students receive a well-rounded education that combines theoretical knowledge with practical skills.

BSMRAU’s Faculty of Agriculture places significant emphasis on research and innovation. Faculty members undertake cutting-edge research projects aimed at addressing the agricultural challenges faced by Bangladesh. The faculty boasts state-of-the-art laboratories and research facilities that enable students and researchers to explore new ideas, develop sustainable farming practices, and contribute to the advancement of agricultural sciences.

Moreover, the faculty maintains strong collaborations with national and international agricultural research organizations, fostering knowledge exchange and providing access to advanced technologies. These collaborations create valuable opportunities for students and faculty members to engage in joint research projects, training programs, and conferences, further enhancing their academic and professional development.

Overall, the Faculty of Agriculture at BSMRAU stands as a center of excellence in agricultural education, research, and extension. It is dedicated to preparing students to become skilled professionals who can contribute to the sustainable development of agriculture, address food security challenges, and promote rural prosperity not only in Bangladesh but also beyond its borders.

Program Offering Entity: Faculty of Agriculture

Academic Program: Bachelor of Science in Agriculture

Name of the Degree: B S (Agriculture)

Vision of the Program

Providing world standard education in the field of agriculture.

Mission of the Program

Producing high quality graduates equipped with modern knowledge and technology in the fields of agriculture.

 Description of the Program

The Faculty of Agriculture of Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman Agricultural University (BSMRAU) starts functioning for Undergraduate Program through offering degree of Bachelor of Science in Agriculture [BS (Agriculture)] since Summer 2005 term. The goal of the Faculty is to contribute to the national development by providing intellectual leadership through producing quality graduates in different fields of agriculture. The Faculty of Agriculture follows the North American term-based course-credit system of education having three terms Summer, Autumn and Winter in an academic Calendar Year. There are 15 academic Departments and 01 Academic unit under the Faculty of Agriculture which yield integrated degree as BS (Agriculture). Each Department has highly qualified teachers and well-equipped laboratories. The Dean, Faculty of Agriculture administers the BS (Agriculture) Program. This is a fixed model Program which requires to complete a 200 Credits Hour (Theory & Practical) by 12 terms within four years.

Program Educational Objectives (PEO)

  1. To provide theoretical and practical knowledge on the improvement, production, protection and extension of agricultural technology.
  2. To enable the students, acquire knowledge and skills at per global standard.
  3. To persuade students towards innovative research, and lifelong learning.
  4. To facilitate students with knowledge for natural resources management towards sustainable agriculture.

Program Learning Outcomes (PLO)

After successful completion of the BS (Agriculture) program from BSMRAU, the graduates will be able to:

  1. carry out practice-based tasks in modern agriculture,
  2. express critical thinking and apply problem-solving skills in plant production systems;
  3. demonstrate innovative, and entrepreneurial leadership in the agricultural sector;
  4. communicate effectively both orally and in academic writings;
  5. apply ICT based tools in the management of soil and plant systems;
  6. demonstrate the ability to work in a team while performing individually;
  7. analyze the legal and ethical issues impacting agriculture, and the environment;
  8. create awareness for extension, and integration of smart agricultural technologies;
  9. demonstrate an understanding of the impact of globalization, and diversity in agricultural organizations.

Information about Faculty Member

Total number of Faculty Members

Faculty Members with Ph.D.

Faculty Members on study Leave for Ph.D.




Information on Students who Completed BS (Agriculture) Program

Batch Graduation Term Male Female Total
1st Winter/2008 47 35 82
2nd Winter/2009 17 23 40
3rd Winter/2010 41 37 78
4th Winter/2011 26 36 62
5th Winter/2012 34 40 74
6th Winter/2013 45 37 82
7th Winter/2014 34 47 81
8th Winter 2015 25 54 79
9th Winter 2016 28 51 79
10th Winter 2017 52 81 133
11th Winter 2018 33 63 96
12th Winter 2019 52 49 101
13th Winter 2020 39 55 94
14th Winter 2021 42 56 98
15th Winter 2022 35 72 107
Total= 550 736 1286


Information of Ongoing Students of BS(Agriculture) Program

Year Male Female Total
Native Foreign Total Native Foreign Total
1st Year (19th Batch) 46 46 64 64 110
2nd Year (15th Batch) 57 57 48 48 105
3rd Year (14th Batch) 49 49 54 54 103
4th Year (13th Batch) 42 05 47 59 7 66 113
Total 194 05 199 225 7 232 431