Welcome to the Department of Agronomy

The department of agronomy is one of the largest and oldest departments of Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman Agricultural University having twelve faculty members (6 Professors; 3 Associate Professors, 2 Assistant Professors and 1 Lecturer), one officer and three supporting staff. The goal of the department is to contribute to the growth and development of the farm economy in Bangladesh by providing intellectual leadership and by providing quality graduates in the field of agronomy. It deals with the science of crop-soil-environment relationship with the aim of improving crop productivity. It works for the improvement of cereals, pulses, oilseeds and industrial crops in a sustainable manner to ensure sufficient supply of foods for the increasing population, and for supply of raw materials for emerging agro-industries of country. The department of agronomy offers courses for BS, MS and PhD programs. Research facilities are available in the department for field and laboratory works in most areas of stand establishment, crop physiology, eco-physiology, crop management, cropping system, climate change, environmental stresses, GIS and remote sensing, seed science and technology, weed science and weed management aspects of crop production.

Currently 47 MS and 2 PhD students are enrolling in this department.


Department Head


 M. Moynul Haque, PhD

Professor & Department Head
Department of Agronomy
Faculty of Agriculture, BSMRAU
Phone: +88 01711908640, +8802996695310-14 Extn.  2016
E-mail: headagr@bsmrau.edu.bd